Time to learn/ time to teach

After returning from one of my weekend jaunts to Manchester barcamp( a free un-conference tun by Manchester girl geeks) i was struck by something really interesting. I am a pretty self motivated learner, i don’t need people to teach me, just a big book and some times, but in teaching where does that time come from?

I’ve seen a lot of courses offering me to learn about programming, and I think for the beginning programmer that is great, however I also think that as someone who can program I just need the time to develop my skills and learn how to teach new languages, and here I find this time lacking.

In an ideal world, I’d love to experiment and develop lessons for my year 12 and 13 computing in:

  • PHP
  • Object Orientation (and Greenfoot)
  • Build your own PC Courses

My limitation is not my lack of understanding, its the preparation time on learning how to teach these topics. I have 4 machines ready to go to teach a “build your own PC” course, but i need to strip them down to bare bones to start, this could take me 1/2 hours at least, then write the prep materials.

The Online Argument
there are a million resources online and as much as a love the CAS group and their resources and even (sometimes) TES, i can usually spend more time trying to find a resource and edit it to suit my needs rather than making it myself.

At the moment there are a million courses teaching the basics but i either need more time to plan or more time to decide how to impart new concepts.

Thoughts
Teaching is a lot about time and pressure and the idea of micro management of tasks, get the coursework markedFatherhood-For-Geeks-610x524 for year 11, then do year 8 marking, then plan your lessons. Doing the extra jobs that need/like to be done sit in the background. As a new dad as well (she’s 6 months and V Cute) i am now struck by what people said before she was born “all this extra stuff you do will go out the window”. Well, shockingly, they were right and i was wrong. I try to keep up the best I can and attend the courses to meet my collegues/friends, but what i really need now is an extra 2 hours a week where i can sit and learn the extra stuff to bring my lessons on even further.

I was thinking of applying for Head of Departments this year, i think if i did that my life and passion for my subject would be sucked away and replaced by an even bigger mountain of paperwork. But as I wrote in a previous post “i’m looking for something, not sure what it is yet”

p.s. apologies for the picture, picked it up ages ago and can’t find the link. if someone can, i’ll credit the source.

Leave a Reply

