A new Computing A-level, or time to re-think

So at the moment I’m looking at the new computing curriculum and currently I’m bricking it a little. All this change, how is it going to affect me? How is the course going to change? what will this mean for the students?

I’ve been teaching Computing for 4/5 years now and I have to say that I love it. I think the work is challenging and the flexibility in the curriculum allows me to change and develop how I teach every year. At the moment I have an A-Level that includes all the course materials and more. I also don’t just teach 1 programming language I teach 4 including: HTML, PHP and Greenfoot.

So looking at the OCR specification I started feeling trepidation, it has all the things I currently teach, but maybe I’m not covering it enough. This has taken about 4 hours of my day up today, what to do?

I’ve now resolved. I don’t want to teach to a specification (Although, obviously I will teach so the students can pass), but in a world of increasingly challenging numbers in sixth form and greater competition I resolve the following:

  1. To teach the course to the best of my ability
  2. To continue to look for greater opportunities beyond a standard computing course
  3. To work harder to make my course something special for the students I teach

I just hope I can find the time to fit all the new ideas I want for the course into a new and exciting curriculum. what are you going to do with a new curriculum and open evening in September? I’d love to know your thoughts in the comments.

Leave a Reply

